top of page

There are 38 public universities and 3 private universities in Australia.

A higher education provider is either a:

  • university

  • self-accrediting provider, or

  • non self-accrediting provider.


Higher education providers are required to be registered under Part 3 of the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency Act 2011(Cth) and listed on a national register.

Australian Higher Education System

The Australian higher education system consists of independent,  self-governing public and private universities and higher education  institutions that award higher education qualifications.

Useful information:

Check for Higher Education Qualifications.

Check for List of Australian Universities.

Check for Australian University Rankings.

bottom of page